NAIT athletes honoured

by | Apr 13, 2018 | Featured, Sports, Uncategorized

After another season has wrapped up for all Ooks teams, many players and coaches have been honoured for their work.

In curling just over a week ago, Jules Owchar received the Curling Canada women’s coaching award, while Jonah Tobinski of the men’s curling team took home the CCAA men’s fair play award along with his bronze medal from the CCAA curling championships.

On the CCAA level, volleyballer Cole Burkart and women’s basketball player Kika Greenlee were named All-Canadians.

On the ACAC front, Brittney Savard, a forward from the Ooks women’s hockey team, flexed her academic muscle, winning the ACAC top women’s hockey scholastic achiever. Savard posted nine goals and six assists this year in 21 games with the Ooks, while scoring a near-perfect 3.9 GPA during the first semester in the personal fitness program. Savard was also named to the ACAC all-conference team, as she was seventh in the league in scoring. Elsewhere on the women’s hockey team, Megan Leblanc was named the ACAC women’s hockey rookie of the year. Leblanc also scored nine goals and six assists which lead all rookies in scoring. Leading scorer Kendra Hanson, Verca Kuzelova, and Carlin Boey were also all named to all-conference teams.

The men’s hockey all-conference teams were littered with Ooks, as defence man Ty Stanton and Corey Chorneyko, along with forward and leading scorer Jake Mykitiuk were all honoured.

Samson Cleare and Brady Mackay were both named onto the men’s north allconference basketball second team after they both helped the Ooks to a fourth place finish in the league. Sydney Hurlburt represented the women’s basketball team, getting named to the women’s north second all-conference ACAC team.

In men’s volleyball Burkart, Devon Klein and Mitch Lewington were all named to the northern all-conference team.

The NAIT athletic awards banquet is April 6.

– Connor Toffan

Latest Issue